Reading Goals-2017

black-woman-readingSo, I signed up again for the Goodreads Reading Challenge. Again. I’m not sure why I’m being a glutton for punishment. I’ve signed up every year since becoming a member of the bookworm-based social media network. And every year I’m shorter than millimeter of the goal I choose.

What’s crazy is that lack of reading is not the reason why. Between my Kindle and Nook app for Android, I read soooooo many books! I also work in a library, so I have more access to books there. (I am getting my book hording under control – I promise.) My goals are usual between 60-100 books. I’m sure I’m getting 60, at least. And that’s just with doing a quick-and-dirty on the bus or on the john. Pun intended. And despite with all that abundant reading, every year I log back into Goodreads and the failure of meeting the challenge greets me.

Why? Because I’m forgetful and lazy. Yep. Simple as that. Sooooo, despite the fact that this is about a book challenge, the real issues are so much bigger than saying to random Goodreads nerd I read 3.5 more books than them. It’s about using tools like this reading challenge to clean the mess that quick-and-dirty leaves. I want to finish goals, even small, meaningless ones. Because just simple things like straightening up my room before work or ticking a small box to show I read Teaching the Boss can provide healthy habits that lead to bigger and better things. And those are good goals in 2017 and beyond.

Wish me luck!

P.S. I’ve got five books on my goal so far. BWWM romance at its worst lol. tumblr_static_filename_640_v2

 

Leave a Reply

